These two people will be envied: a person who spends his nights and days reading the Qur'an, and a person who spends the wealth given by Allah in the path of Allah.

Hadith-i Shareef, Sahih al-Bukhari

There are six articles of faith in Islam:

  1. Belief in Allah (SWT) .
  2. Belief in the Books (scriptures).
  3. Belief in Angels.
  4. Belief in the Prophets of Allah.
  5. Belief in the Day of Judgement.
  6. Belief in the Divine Laws, namely that both good and evil are from Allah.

Umar Ibn Khattab (RA) relates:

We were sitting in the company of the Holy Prophet (SAWS) , when suddenly a man arrived.

He was wearing clean, white clothes and his hair was jet black.

He did not look as though he was a traveller and he was not known to any of us.

He sat down close to the Holy Prophet (SAWS) , his knees touching the knees of the Holy Prophet (SAWS) .

He said:

O’ Muhammad, tell me something about faith.

The Holy Prophet (SAWS) replied:

Faith is that you should believe in Allah, His Angels, His Books and His Prophets; that you should believe in the Day of Judgement and that you should believe in the Divine Laws relating to good and evil.


Ali ibn Talib (RA) relates that the Holy Prophet (SAWS) said:

The faith is that a person recognises Allah at heart, accepts Him verbally and acts on His commandments.

Ibn Majah

One who does not accept any of the above mentioned articles of faith is regarded as having denied them all.